Hello Seniors

TennVet

I sought out a forum that holds the possibility of sharing discussions aside from the non-sense on most of the social media platforms. We are a senior couple living a comfortable rural life in the southeast US. We are conservative, retired, enjoy some travel, love to share in the life of our children and grandchildren, and mind our own business. I guess you could describe us midway to the right of center, meaning we don't really condemn the beliefs of others but we don't subscribe to extreme notions.

We garden, dine out when the mood hits us, enjoy an eclectic mix of music genre, although country is very often our choice. I mow our lawn, the lawn of the lady next door and sometimes the yard of our son who lives near and works a lot. I'm a Vietnam combat veteran, and take the security of our great nation seriously. We use technology in those instances where it doesn't feel intrusive and have been known to buy things we need and probably could do without online. When I replaced our home computer I opted for a laptop using MS for its operating system, have wished a number of times I had gone with an Apple product just because of its ease of connectivity.

We try to attend to our health needs and to avoid being a burden on our children. We both read a great deal, my wife prefers real paper, while I am much more comfortable using my Kindle and have a library of ebooks approaching 9K, many that I have never read. I delight in finding good free ebooks but I'll spend a buck when something really grabs my interest. Our hair is gray and we don't move as quickly as we used too, but we enjoy what we enjoy and don't apologize for our beliefs.

That is quite an Introduction!
I have been a disabled veteran's advocate for over 41 years and my deceased husband was USMC Combat Vietnam.

My daughter gave me a Kindle 11 years ago on Mother's day and I love it!